The DRC is located in central africa. It, along with Sudan and Algeria, one of the three largest countries in Africa, surpassing the two million square kilometers.
The Democratic Republic of the Congo is bordered to the north to the Central African Republic, Sudan to the northeast, east to Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania, south to Zambia and Angola on the west by the Republic of Congo and the Atlantic Ocean. North in the northern coastal border, the Democratic Republic of Congo to Angola also limited, and more specifically to the enclave of Cabinda.
The border with the Republic of the Congo Congo River forms almost in its entirety, although in the border region between Matadi and the ocean is a whole land. The border with the state of Impfondo, in the Republic of Congo, is set by the Ubangi River, which also serves as the border with the Central African Republic, like its tributary river Bomu. Oubangui River, is itself a tributary of the River Congo. At the border with Uganda, there are two major lakes, Lake Albert and Lake Edward. At the border with Rwanda, between Bukavu and Goma, is the beautiful Lake Kivu. Further south, part of the Burundi border, and along the Tanzanian border, is Lake Tanganyika. The lake stretches from the town of Uvira to the south. These lakes form, together with Lake Victoria, where he was born of a branch of the Nile, which is known as the Great Lakes region of Africa, which the suspect understood that, as happened with the Mozambique Channel, it was opened and led to the separation of Madagascar, in a few years to join the lakes to form an opening that separates the east of the continent (Mozambique, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Kenya …).
Given the vast territory, this is very different. First we must say that the Democratic Republic of Congo has a small outlet to the sea, although it has no major ports. The country’s main port at Matadi is situated on the River Congo. This river is navigable in its final stretch, while the boats can not go back to Kinshasa, the capital, since between Matadi and the waterfalls are insurmountable for some ships, the Cascades Livingstone. The Congo River is with his river, the border with the Republic of Congo and the Central African Republic. Furthermore, in its final section serves as a border with Angola. Kinshasa, the capital, is also the largest city of more than two million inhabitants. It is situated along the Congo River, directly opposite the capital of the Republic of Congo, Brazzaville. The capital, therefore, is located on the west side of the country.
The DRC is characterized by the dispersion of its population, because despite more than two million square kilometers with only about fifty million.
In the north, the region between the River Congo and the Central African Republic is the second largest rainforest in the world, which reaches its maximum in tight near Mbandaka, especially at the height of the Salonga National Park (north and south), and the city of Kiri. Another major city in the north of the Democratic Republic of Congo Kisangani, the largest of all the North. At the center of the country are the towns of Mbuji Mayi and Kananga, which are important mining centers (especially the first one).
All the interior regions described so far, those from the east of Kinshasa will extend through the center and north of the country, are known in the Depression of the Congo, and therefore low. After describing the higher regions of the country.
In the east the terrain becomes more hilly, especially the height of the border with Uganda and Rwanda. Here, along the border with Rwanda, and near the border with Burundi, is the largest city in this area and that is none other than the city of Bukavu, which was made infamous by the eruptions of the volcano whose slope is located.
Lastly, in the high region of the Democratic Republic of the Congo is bordered by Zambia, which is perhaps the highest across the country. This area is the city of Lubumbashi, the second largest in the country, where the former national president Laurent Kabila.